Thousands of Happy Smart Home Customers

But don’t just take our word for it...

We offer great products & great knowledge all backed up with great service - and our customers agree!

We’re very proud of our independent Excellent Trustpilot rating, backed up by the many repeat customers we’ve been supporting for years.


Read More


World-Class, Industry-Leading Technical Support - Forever Free

You’ll always have FREE access to our technical knowledgebase, application guides, YouTube tutorials & Customer Services, as well as all other online resources, help, white papers and articles.

If none of these answer your query you can also raise a ticket and get direct access to our team of smart home specialists for for assistance.


Access to technical specialists
100’s of in-depth help resources
Video guides via YouTube channel
Blog articles with product reviews & test results


The Vesternet Promise

As Founder & CEO of Vesternet, I personally guarantee your 100% satisfaction on any purchase.

I’d never want you to be unhappy with something you buy from us, so here’s my promise - you can return any unused products within 365 days. If you have problems with a new purchase, our support team will work with you to resolve. And if you still can’t get it working then you can return it within 14 days for replacement or refund. For full information take a look at our full returns policy.

In addition, here’s my personal email should you ever have any problems or feedback:

We’re not just a shop, we’re with you all the way on building your smart home.


Z-Wave Vera Edge




1 x Z-Wave Vera Edge   +£99.00

* Required Fields

Overview Shipping Returns Support

Need advice? More information?


VERA Edge is a fully featured Z-Wave compatible Internet gateway that enables you to keep connected to your home and business, no matter where you are.

With its fast processor, large memory for downloading apps and high-speed Wi-Fi, VERA Edge is one of the fastest, most affordable gateways on the market, more powerful than ever. Heavy users with multiple device types and plugins will find VERA Edge is up to the challenge. You can add hundreds of devices to your Vera network and even add multiple Veras to your home or small business.

You have unlimited options for scenes, rooms, timers, events and notifications. Read more about using Vera for security, energy saving, home theatre and remote home management.

Affordable home automation control

VERA Edge can control all Z-Wave devices on a network, including sensors, lights and appliances and thermostats.

  • Convenient User Interface
    Its easy-to-follow setup process will have you up and running in no time.
  • Remote Access
    Access your Z-Wave network from anywhere in the world using your PC, smartphone and tablet.
  • Z-Wave Compatibility
    Create your network by selecting devices from more than 1000 Z-Wave certified devices.
  • Expandable Applications
    Enhance your system by downloading from a wide variety of VERA Edge applications.
  • Energy Monitoring
    Brings simple energy monitoring to every home, enabling you to save money right from the start.
  • Geo-Fencing
    Sense who is arriving or leaving based on cell phone location and trigger action from devices.

Z-Wave VERA Edge ipad interface

Don't worry about the ones your care about

The VERA Edge can help you keep your home and family safe and secure by:

  • Letting you know when people arrive home by sending you a text or email
  • Monitoring your house when you are on holiday
  • Sending live video of the house directly to your PC, smartphone or tablet
  • Help you stay connected with elderly relatives who are living independently

Z-Wave Vera Edge home monitor

Manage your business

Of course, you can also easily manage your business with this device. It will allow you to:

  • Track when employees enter and leave
  • Know that your business has been locked and is secure
  • Set your alarm, lock the doors, turn off the light and turn off the thermostat with just one button.

Additional features

Even though the user interface is simple enough for anybody to use, VERA Edge offers features and customisations normally only seen in high-end systems.

Additional features allow you to stream live plug and play IP cameras so that you can watch your home through your Smartphone or even store footage remotely (for a monthly fee). You can also create applications to offer all VERA Edge users.

Z-Wave VERA Edge interface

  • Limitless Expandability
    Vera integrates Z-Wave with alarm panels, IP cameras, control audio/video, Insteon, X-10, serial devices and more.
  • Video Monitoring
    Stream live video from plug and play IP cameras even on your smartphone; store video footage* on our secure servers that you can access from anywhere. *monthly fee required.
  • Bridge Multiple Vera Devices Over IP
    Enhance the range by bridging 2 or more Vera devices over IP then operate as one controller.
  • Open APIs
    VERA Edge’s home control engine, created by MiOS, has an open architecture allowing you or your developers to create new Apps to offer to all VERA Edge users.

Z-Wave Plus

The Z-Wave Vera Edge is Z-Wave Gen5 and supports Z-Wave Plus. Z-Wave Plus (5th Generation Z-Wave) offers a lot of new features including increased range, extended battery life and Over The Air upgrading (OTA). Take a look at our "What is Z-Wave Plus" guide for more information

Technical Details

VeraEdge Home Controller

  • Wireless: Z-Wave Plus™ (868.4MHz) and 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi
  • Ethernet: 10/100
  • Max. Number of Devices: 220
  • Hardware CPU: 600MHz MIPS SoC
  • GUI / User Interface: UI7
  • Flash Memory: NAND 128MB
  • Memory: DDR2 128MB
  • USB Port: 1
  • WAN Port: 1
  • Power Supply Input: AC 100-240VAC, 50-60Hz
  • Output: DC 12V/1A (European Plug)
  • Dimensions: 116 x 80 x 31mm
  • Certifications FCC, CE, RoHS, Z-Wave Plus

Application Notes, Guides and Videos

General Help Guides, Tutorials and Tips & Tricks

3.64 / 5.0
11 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Excellent product at an excellent price.
This is my second Vera Edge. The first one works at home, and this one began to work in my country house, a summer house. Before buying, I went over all possible options. Six months I read the Internet ... :) Alternatives for price and quality were not found. Excellent product, Really makes life a little more comfortable, well, entertainment for the guy to drink less :)
5 Jul 2017
Great product and works well
Swapped from Fibaro as having problems with it. Very pleased with the system and the ability to do all the things I found the old system didn't do.
15 Dec 2016
1 year ago
Time to throw this in the bin.
The Vera is a very inconsistent product, on the one hand simple to use if all you want to do is switch something on and off, but anything complicated such as switching something on and off but only if another thing is already on for example, needs programming in the worst, most poorly-documented, terrible development environment ever. Your programming window is a 10-line web page no matter how big the page. Error reports are limited to "error in LUA scenes and events", not even any information as to which device is causing the error, just "something is wrong somewhere", leaving you to try and search some very unhelpful logs with no documentation to go on. Reliability is very poor, with frequent reboots and power cycles needed several times a week. Firmware updates, when available, cause a redirect to the firmware update page every time you log in, but actually installing the update invariably breaks something requiring much debugging. The support team wasted my time by taking 2 months to go full circle, and I'm now waking up to the house being cold regularly as the vera has died overnight. Time to get rid of it, it's taking over my life rather than being in the background.
27 Nov 2016
Pile of garbage
Had the box for 18 months now. It gave problems during initial set-up of my devices (Secure thermostats) and worryingly their appearance and functionality changed with some Vera updates. Recently it started getting blocked and only removing the power cable would reboot it. This morning it has blocked and even a factory reset will not bring it to life. I am a programmer by profession and electronics hobbyist, but this thing has cost me countless wasted hours and finally beaten me - and I'm not trying to do anything fancy! I am now searching for a replacement to this useless product.
26 Nov 2016
2 years ago
Could do better
I bought this unit 14 months ago to manage a flat I let (3 hrs journey time away). It ran a couple of door locks, a couple of thermostats and a handful of other simple devices switches/sensors that I could either never get to work or they paired at some point but permanently appeared dormant.... Initially, I found it very frustrating that it took an age to pair a device or reboot. User interaction was via fleeting messages which you could miss while waiting several hours... However, once configured, it appeared reliable for my main devices. However, a few weeks ago the unit stopped accepting any writes to the memory - I could not update the firmware from UI7 Version 7.0.15 to version 7.0.17 and it did not save and changes to settings. I tried a total factory reset and it has not recovered despite 24hrs spent rebooting etc and a further 2.5hrs on the phone and screen sharing session with tech Vera support. There is no documentation for the unit other than a rudimentary description of the basic web interface which is self explanatory in any event. There is no explanation of how to ssh into the unit, how to install devices that are not pre-configured etc In fact you get the impression you have bought a capable product that is let down by a lack of adequate supporting documentation. The web interface is not user friendly, it takes several clicks even to log in. So If I have the controller on open on my desktop, the session closes after 30 mins and to open a lock remotely can take 30 secs to a minute as you login to the gateway server, it searches for your controller, you connect to and login to the controller, only then can you start to look for the device you want to control - not good when a guest is on the phone trying to get in. Most frustratingly, NONE of the advanced features in the web interface are documented in ANY way - this seems such a simple matter to resolve. There is no explanation of the technical specification for Z-Wave and how the unit implements it - you have to hunt that down yourself. The iOS app is not much better, you can change modes easily enough but anything else is tiresome - adding PINs to locks and PIN time restrictions is not possible with the iOS app you need to use the main web UI. This review is written after 14 months active use and several 24hrs sessions trying to fix the unit or install/pair devices. Vera do have regular firmware updates, I would like to see more focus on usability improvements based on properly researched use cases (i.e. logging in and switching something on/off!). Better documentation even some tooltips on the web interface for the advanced features and ssh access would go along way. If you reach this far, then you are probably persistent enough to be able to cope with using the unit.
9 Nov 2016
2 years ago
New to Z wave but after a while and the use of all the training videos got the hang of it, seems to be a good system.
28 Apr 2016
1 year ago
Smart solution with a lot of flexibility - Poor documentation
I looked at many solutions to Home Automation and after testing a couple selected the VeraEdge. Pros: Out of the box the solution works and is easy to set up, though would not take a UK PostCode, reported this and they have promised to fix. Adding Devices is easy and I had to remove a couple and found that process easy to. Creating scenes, once you have watched a few Videos and here's a BIG PLUS theres loads by Vera, well done guys. Lots of great plugin apps. With a little LUA coding your can do almost anything with this tiny box. Cons: The documentation is either none existent, especially around the Apps. You don't even get a link to the developers homepage. VERY POOR! I have: Electric heating being controlled all via scenes, Home-Away Vacation aware etc. Lighting in doors and out based on presence and light Alarm System which uses Keyfob entry and Vera Geofencing Why 4*: Great unit, very flexible but poor documentation.
7 Jan 2016
2 years ago
Community not Company driven......
The edge works. Getting it to work, or moreover getting good it to do what you want it to do is not the simple task it should be. For that I suspect you need to go the Fibaro route. The interface is clear, but not that intuitive. You have to get straight into the lingo, and to do anything beyond relatively simple stuff, is anything conditional, you are straight into either Lua code or, thanks to the strong community, a well written and reliable plug in. The company should be slightly embarrassed that the success of the unit is down to its user group and certainly not by its own actions. Work arounds are needed too often, but they are easily found in the well supported forums, and, strangely the best interfaces are home built, and not MCV supplied. That said, the unit pairs easily, is small, doesn't run hot and, well, works. If you are prepared to go under the bonnet a bit (not essential, but maybe inevitable), then this is good. If not, head for Fibaro.
17 Nov 2015
Vera Edge is great- shame about the apps
I have my Vera Edge working nicely, straight out of the box. Started to load up the devices I have and immediately ran into problems, no set up for Fibaro Universal Sensor or Qubino Dual Relay, those are the only devices I use, simple it should be input process output, but not for Vera. AND the apps, what a mess, the first one I tried the instructions are in French, which is great, if all the instructions were in French, but everything else is in English. AND it doesn't work like the instructions say anyway. What a great piece of negative sales technique, the engineers want yo keep Z-wave to themselves so make sure it is incomprehensible. NOT IMPRESSED. In the last week I have spoken to 3 people who would like to control their buildings, but not while the equipment is sold by engineers.
9 Nov 2015
So far so good. Minor
So far so good. Minor compatibility problem between Vera Edge & RFSTRX device was quickly resolved by a firmware upgrade, courtesy of a fast response from Vesternet tech support team. Lightwave dimmer added in easily, and now awaiting delivery of a roller blind to test before considering next item.
31 May 2015
A good controller at a good price
Due to UI7 issues the Edge has started off with a less than ideal reputation, however after my Vera 2 had something of a self destruction I needed a new controller and Edge was my choice because a) I wanted something that would support the apps I used on my previous unit b) the Vesternet teams tested confirmed the unit has matured. Installing from a back up of my old system was a nightmare and caused issues, so I wiped the unit and started with a ground up build. It has been worth the effort as after a few weeks running the unit seems very stable and is more responsive than my Vera 2 (which would vary in responsiveness at times). With the continued updates of UI7 this unit should continue to grow to be at least as reliable (if not more) than the units it replaces. 4 stars as there are a number of apps that still don't function with UI7 which limits some of the more advanced possibilities at this time.
15 Mar 2015
Browse 3 questions Browse 3 questions and 13 answers
Why did you choose this?
Vesternet Store
This was an upgrade for my Vera Lite which I've been happy with, improved performance and more device support compared to the Vera Lite
Peter N. 13 Oct 2016
This was an upgrade for my Vera Lite which I've been happy with, improved performance and more device support compared to the Vera Lite
Peter N. 13 Oct 2016
Better than my old Vera Lite, although the UI7 software still has a long way to go in terms of reliability and the user experience. Way too many bugs in it, Vera!
Jeff 13 Feb 2016
Better than my old Vera Lite, although the UI7 software still has a long way to go in terms of reliability and the user experience. Way too many bugs in it, Vera!
Jeff 13 Feb 2016
No fees on someone else's server!
. .. 26 Jan 2016
Don't want to wait for Vera Plus next month. Want to get started now and this seems the best value unit.
B S. 3 Jan 2016
to replace an older everion
Guest 23 Feb 2016
to replace an older everion
Guest 23 Feb 2016
Well known brand, recommend by friend.
Guest A. 2 Feb 2016
Well known brand, recommend by friend.
Guest A. 2 Feb 2016
After a lot of research I thought this would give me the greatest flexibility and customability for proper home automation not just enabling remote control of lots of different devices.
Simon C. 10 Jan 2016
To enable remote control of my gas central heating system, and provide for future additional home automation functionality.
Guest A. 22 Dec 2015
Can the gateway operate without internet connectivity?
Andy G. 11 May 2016
BEST ANSWER: Yes, Vera will work normally without Internet access however you will only be able to access it on your local network by going directly to the gateways ip address (I.e Also without Internet acces you won't be able to download firmware updates and essential apps (PLEG etc).
Is the optional power supply a replacement cable with UK plug?
Gary K. 11 Feb 2016
BEST ANSWER: The VERA Edge includes a European power supply. However, we include a free of charge UK adapter, allowing you to use it with UK style wall plugs - you will see that as an option on the product page and is the default option. Some people want to have a UK power supply (with a UK plug), for that reason we offer the optional UK power supply.

Please wait...

Item(s) Added Continue shopping or View cart & checkout
Continue shopping or View cart & checkout